Regarding the recent licensing/copyright issue

If you frequent this blog, by now you might have noticed that my translations of The Isolator have disappeared. I’m going to take this opportunity to announce my policy.

I was contacted yesterday by a group claiming themselves to represent Hachette Book Group and indirectly Yen Press. They demanded that I take down my translations, which I did, as I have stated before that I will very rarely, if ever, contest claims, especially for licensed works such as The Isolator. To my understanding, they are paying more attention to it as its first volume is rather close to release (official webpage), and apparently believed that my translation would harm sales.

However, for those even slightly familiar with US copyright law, you will likely be familiar with fair use (I recommend this article for a quick overview).

I will repeat my aim for doing these translations: I strive to benefit the targeted community by translating material that they currently cannot consume without the ability of a translator. I will never intentionally monetize my translations or site (if you see ads on my site, I’m sorry, but WordPress enforces them for free accounts). My intentions are entirely non-profit.

Therefore, a message to Yen Press about any future translations I may do of their licensed works:

From now on, I will only translate material that has an official release unreasonably far from the current date, such as the later volumes of Sword Art Online. I have good faith that most do not wish to wait until 2018 to read material that is currently released in Japan to be consumed. To be frank, it’s just not fair. Furthermore, it is not unreasonable to assume that you will not publish a series for that long. Please feel free to prove me wrong.

If you don’t want me to include/upload the cover artwork, I won’t. Just ignore the translations that I and the community do for fans – we are happy to support your release later.

In addition, I’m licensing my work under Creative Commons. The full license is below, and I will be implementing it on my site:


Creative Commons License
defan’s translations is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.


Thanks for your support, and I hope you have a wonderful day.

Author: defan752

I translate stuff for you all to read.

2 thoughts on “Regarding the recent licensing/copyright issue”

  1. So, does that mean you won’t be doing the isolator? I am not sure of the release date and the stance on the people who claim to inderectly represent yen press.

    Like

    1. I will no longer be translating The Isolator since I can see their standpoint – YP’s official release is in Summer 2015. However I may translate other works already licensed by them that are unreasonable to wait for (for example, series they do that are 10+ volumes long).

      Like

Comment on this...

