Status Update (11/14/15)

Hey all, it’s been a really long time since my last release, and I’ve been feeling guilty for keeping you guys in the dark, so here’s why I haven’t released much and what will happen next:

  • Why nothing has happened for a while:
    • I’ve been really busy with RL and it’s reached a level that’s become hard to manage. Translations were completely in the back of my mind during that time.
    • The good news is that the business has eased up, allowing me more time to translate.
    • From now on, expect phases of time during which I won’t be releasing anything.

  • Sword Art Online Volume 16
    • Yes, I know the progress bar shows 20% of Chapter 18, and yes, that much has been translated, but it hasn’t been updated for a while.
    • I don’t want to disappoint by updating it to its actual progress. I haven’t done much of Volume 16 because it’s being translated by another translator (Tap), who will likely be faster than me. I urge you to go to that site instead.
    • I translated Volume 15 because it was long overdue for a translation. That time hasn’t come for Volume 16 yet, but if it does, I will pick up speed on this. If Tap releases before I do, I will consider dropping Volume 16. That does NOT mean I will drop future SAO volumes.
    • I understand that this project receives the highest demand but I don’t feel like racing against someone else. I’ve been focusing most on other projects at the moment.
  • Kokoro Connect Volume 5
    • Moving forward with Volume 5. I want to finish this before the end of the year.
    • I fully intend to translate the entire series if no one else helps. If I get help, all the better.
  • Urasome Tenba
    • This is a fallback series that I will do whenever I feel like doing nothing else. It’s still pretty much at the same progress as it was before.
  • Accel World (at BurstLinkers)
    • Although it may not look like it, I’ve been helping a lot with the highly ambitious Accel World translation project. We’re trying to do the entire series and catch up to the Japanese release. Sounds stupid? That’s why we’re doing it.
    • We’re just about to release Volume 6.

  • Potential new projects in the future (Yes, I am crazy.)
    • SAO Web Novel Excerpts and Ending: In the future (possibly around the end of SAO’s LN release), I will attempt to translate excerpts of important plot points and the ending of the web novel, to show the difference between it and the light novel. Note that it is the actual text and not the summaries.

Author: defan752

I translate stuff for you all to read.

15 thoughts on “Status Update (11/14/15)”

  1. Hey guys, Tap just published his finished version of SAO 16 Chapter 18! Since Defan will most likely drop this part completely, check out http://www.taptaptaptaptap.net/

    Beside, looking forward to the next time you are able to translate SAO, you and Tap are both great and I love fiddeling about the little differences you make. :D

    Like

  2. Thanks for the update, defan! Hope things get less hectic for you. We really appreciate the work you do. I am so glad you intend on finishing Kokoro Connect! Seriously, I am grateful. Take all the time you need on these projects. Wish you all the best!

    Like

  3. SAO and Accel World are licensed right? and you’ve no problem doing Licensed Work, If that is the case i’d like to nominate a series which got dropped after being licensed recently.
    OVERLORD
    Vol 9 of the series has been out AND is translated, there is no date for vol 10(i think) but it’ll definitely launch, sometime.
    So,you’ve plenty of time to decide(i think), and read the series if you haven’t already(It’s AWESOME)
    Here, http://skythewood.blogspot.in/p/knights-and-magic-author-amazake-no.html
    Though i do hope that you translate it, i have no problem if you decide that you don’t want to, atleast read it though, you’re going to enjoy it.
    Thanks for doing something for accel world, I gave up hope, I’ve been trying to learn Kanji for it, And Mahouka, And NGNL and a few more but it’s been very tough, it’s hard, not to mention i don’t get time because of college.

    Like

  4. I’m gonna hold you to the translated web novel segments. I would love to read it after Alicization ends and your potential translation is the only option.

    Like

  5. Thanks, I’m waiting for this post. I wondered why sao chapter 18’s progress just stopped at 20%. This post just explain it.

    Like

  6. Thanks for letting us now and i hope you’ll find some free time in RL also!
    Thinking about SAO,would you mind giving us the korean version you have? I might translate it since i do have some spare time.
    THank you and wish you good luck!

    Like

Comment on this...

