Status Update (4/23/16)

Hey, time to make some announcements.


  • Sword Art Online
    • Work on Volume 17 has begun. I most likely will not be updating the “Translation Progress” on the sidebar due to unnecessary hype.
    • Web novel work has also begun. It will resume after Volume 17 is complete.
  • Kokoro Connect
    • Temporarily on hold until I get the physical raws.
    • I’m still debating on whether I will put my translations on Baka-Tsuki.
  • Urasome Tenba
    • Still a small side project.
  • Accel World
    • Volumes 7 and 8 released on BurstLinkers.

As always, thanks for your support.

Author: defan752

I translate stuff for you all to read.

58 thoughts on “Status Update (4/23/16)”

  1. awesome translation on v.16 i am really grateful that you translated them! I am reading the number 1 LN in japan even though i don’t understand nor do i have an official copy of it! That’s because of you guys Thank you so much!

    BTW i hope this page won’t close down because im waiting for updates! Guhehueheueau!

    Like

  2. Hey defan, apparently you translate from the chinese, but if you need, I have the some of the official japanese epubs of the Kokoro Connect series.

    Like

      1. Just a question before I send it to you: are you more interested in the text itself or in the images/illustrations? That’s because the Amazon version have the complete editable text and decent image quality, while the BookWalker version have much better image quality but have to be screen captured (both text and images, since there’s no way to remove the DRM for now).

        So… depending on your answer, it might change my decision to buy the remaining volumes from either one store or the other.

        Like

        1. In which format does BookWalker deliver it? Epub and the one’s from Amazon can be stripped of DRM, if you need any help let me know

          Like

          1. I can manage to remove the DRM from the Amazon ones. For the Bookwalker ones, though, they do use the epub standard, but they encrypt the files inside the epub “container”. Previously there was a workaround to decrypt those files up to version 1.2.3 of the Bookwalker reader, but there’s none anymore. They really stepped up the DRM protection recently.

            But if you manage to find something, please tell me.

            Like

            1. There is a Calibre plugin called DeDRM from apprenticealf, I’d be interested if that works with BookWalker, too.

              Like

              1. Unfortunately it doesn’t. Have used that for a long time now and was the first thing I tried. The Bookwalker uses a different custom system.

                Like

  3. I have made drafts of Accel World translations though i am not quite confident enough on my own translations. I have Volumes 9 up to 13 translated though i skipped Volumes 7 and 10 since those were Side Stories. As of now, i am busy with my work and i would like to share it for everyone to read but i cannot find a suitable site to post or upload it because of DMCA’s.

    Like

      1. No problem. I do not have the copy of it with me right now but i can send it to your email by the weekend. Also, you might need to do a bit of editing for a few terminologies used in AW so i apologize for that. It would really be a great help if you can help me share it with other fans of AW.

        Like

          1. Thank you so much too for your great translations. I am also looking forward for SAO’s V17. I also plan to translate AW until Volume 16 since i only have hard copies up to that. I will send you the copies by weekend then.

            Like

                  1. Hi,

                    I am currently running on a tight schedule of trips and i haven’t been home that’s why i was not able to send you the copies yet. Sadly, my i need to go around some areas for a few weeks but i can assure you that i can send you the copies by the 28th since i need to be at home too once in a while and that day is an absolutely free day for me. I apologize for making you wait a bit long.

                    Like

                    1. Also, will you still need the V9 since by that time you might already be finished on it. Thank you.

                      Like

  4. Hi defan! I know this isn’t the official page for Accel World translation and that you already removed volume 6 from your site. I know that there’s only a very slim chance of you hearing my request but could you please send me a copy of Accel World vol 6? Please? I already finished reading chapter 6 thanks to a web archive of baka tsuki and tusjecht’s page but I can’t find anything beyond that. It will be highly appreciated. Here’s my email address: mamac111409@gmail.com. Thanks.

    Like

      1. Hello.

        First I want to say thank you for your great work. I’m a spanish speaker but I find your translations way better than the spanish ones, so I can’t be grateful enough.

        Second, and I declare myself complete ignorant on the matter, but I would like to know, more or less, how long does it take you to translate the volumes? Just so I can be aware of how big the work is.

        Like

  5. how long are they estimating volume 17 is going to take
    (i only just caught up to volume 16 recently so I don’t know how long they usually take)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. @defan752, Good work mate, hope enough material of SAO v17 comes out for you to translate, keep up the great work. If you allow me i wanted to make a suggestion about Accel World, could you translate the novels from the newest releases ( Vol 17-18-19) to the old ones instead, since the old ones can be (with extremely long and tiresome google searches) found more or less, i´ve been able to read up to Vol 16, but the latest ones i haven´t found anyone translating it yet. Hope you consider this.
    Best regards to you and your team

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We decided to translate Accel World starting from Volume 6 because it gives more people the opportunity to read the series. You can’t find most of the old ones by searching, since they’ve never been translated.

      Like

  7. Defan do you want translate all web novel or only make summaries??? , other question, going to translate of chinese or japanese?

    Like

  8. What are the odds of putting your translations on Baka-Tsuki being a bad idea, I wonder? Is it about the editors?

    Like

    1. I really don’t see the point in Baka tsuki, almost all of the anime on there has been targeted by DMCA and deleted. I think that’s why nobody bothers putting their trans on there anymore

      Like

  9. Great to know work has begun, my hype for vol 17 it’s through the clouds :D Will Kirito’s harem be able to protect the Underworld until he wakes the fuck up?! WHO KNOWS XD! Thanks for this :)

    Like

  10. Web Novel? of SAO? you’re translating it? Why? The content is exactly the same,rather the novels are much descriptive, from what i’ve heard. so why are you translating them? if i;m wrong please correct me.

    Like

    1. Well minor/semi major things do change occasionally and some people like to see the different scenarios, such as asuna killing kuradeel rather than kirito (something I think worked better in the web version). So while the novels are largely better written and paced its still kinda cool to read the original concepts and how it developed/changed. Kinda like a behind the scenes/deleted scenes sorta thing.

      Like

      1. Oh…I didn’t know that, well i only read Last few Alicization arc chapters, but if that’s the case then why not.
        But, well its my own personal opinion but i think defan should focus on Accel World instead of Web Novel of SAO, Accel World really needs all the attention it can get, and the web novel can come after that.
        But That’s just my opinion.

        Like

        1. Hey! Please, won’t you happen to have a PDF or something of vol 6?? I really want to read it but I have been unable to find it anywhere ;-; And before anyone asks or tells me something for it, no, I don’t have any possible way of buying the official one, that’s why I’m asking D=

          Like

  11. Thanks for making an update. Glad that the work on Volume 17 has begun. I will be waiting for as long as it takes. Thanks once again.

    Like

Comment on this...

